How to Get Your Georgia Real Estate License in 5 Steps

Published On: April 29th, 2024Categories: Real Estate EducationLast Updated: May 21st, 202414.3 min read

About the Author: Nicole Schnell

Avatar photo

Do you aspire to be a Georgia real estate agent and assist clients in realizing their dreams of homeownership? Maybe you want to help investors build their real estate portfolio or develop commercial properties. Getting your Georgia real estate license will help prepare you for a successful and rewarding career in this industry.

First and foremost, ensure you meet the eligibility criteria set by the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC). You must be at least 18 years old, a lawful resident of the U.S., and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. Additionally, you must have what GREC considers a trustworthy reputation and successfully pass a background check. Now, let’s look at the five steps to getting your license and starting your own real estate business!

1. Complete Pre-License Courses

GREC requires you to complete 75 hours of pre-license courses from an approved education provider, like License Classroom. We offer a comprehensive pre-license package, equipping you with the knowledge and skills to succeed in the industry. You’ll dive into foundational topics, including Georgia real estate law, contracts, financing, and more with our flexible online format that allows you to learn at your own pace. We partnered with PSI to bring you the mandatory final course exam proctoring at the low cost of $25 per attempt. Most students complete the course in a few weeks, fully prepared for the license exam and their future in real estate.

2. Pass a Fingerprint-Based Background Check

You’ll need to submit proof of completion of the pre-license courses and a background check clearance to apply to take the license exam. Sign up with Fieldprint Georgia to submit your fingerprints for the background check through the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC). After that, a report will be generated and is typically available through their online portal. The report must be done no more than 60 days before submitting your license application, so time it strategically with your license exam date.

If you have a criminal history and are concerned about passing, you may receive prior clearance by filling out the Background Clearance Application. This grants GREC permission to conduct the background check before you apply and pay the license exam fee.

3. Pass the Georgia Real Estate License Exam

Find a PSI testing location, register to take the Georgia real estate license exam, and pay the $119 fee. You will have up to four hours to complete 152 multiple-choice questions covering both national- and state-required content. You’ll receive your results immediately and must achieve a score of 72% or higher to pass. Boost your confidence and increase your chances of passing on the first try with our Exam Prep course, conveniently included in the pre-license package.

4. Find a Sponsoring Broker

You must secure a sponsoring broker before GREC will issue you an active Georgia real estate license. They’ll provide valuable guidance and support as you navigate the industry and build your business. Expect brokerages to compete for your attention, scheduling calls and coffee meet-ups to pitch their offerings. Ask insightful questions and explore your options thoroughly to find the brokerage that aligns best with your goals and dreams.

Ensure your chosen broker signs and dates the Sponsoring Broker Statement, which must be submitted with your license application. Otherwise, your license will be issued inactive until you complete this.

5. Apply for Your License at PSI

After passing the license exam, submit your license application in person at a PSI testing center (as early as 2 pm on your exam day). You must apply within 12 months of your exam date, or you will need to retake the license exam. Remember that the background check must be done within 60 days of your license application, so plan accordingly if you’ll be applying later. Here are the items you will need to submit with your application:

  • A valid, government-issued photo ID
  • An unsigned Certification of Accuracy (COA) Statement (received after passing the license exam)
  • A completed Sponsoring Broker Statement Form (or your license will be issued inactive)
  • The GCIC report or another acceptable criminal history report
  • A signed and notarized Lawful Presence Verification and Affidavit
  • An application fee of $170 (within 90 days of the exam) or $340 (after 90 days)

Enroll in License Classroom’s GREC-approved pre-license courses today and take the first step toward obtaining your Georgia real estate license!

Top Reasons Real Estate Agents are Here to Stay
License Classroom's Georgia Real Estate Post License CourseGeorgia Real Estate Post-License Requirements