How to Renew Your Georgia Real Estate License

Published On: April 15th, 2024Categories: Real Estate EducationLast Updated: March 22nd, 202410.9 min read

About the Author: Nicole Schnell

Avatar photo
How to Renew Your Georgia Real Estate License

Is it time to renew your Georgia real estate license? The Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) requires sales agents and brokers to renew their licenses every four years. Don’t let your license lapse! We’ll guide you through the steps you need to take to smoothly renew and continue serving your clients with confidence.

#1: Complete Your Education Requirement

You’ll need to complete 36 hours of approved Continued Education (CE) courses every four years to renew your Georgia real estate license. This must include 3 hours of Georgia License Law, and the remaining hours can come from approved elective courses.

In your first year of licensure, you’re required to take 25 hours of an approved Post-Licensing course. GREC allows you to apply 9 hours of these post-license courses toward the required 36 hours of CE courses for your first renewal period, which means you will only need to complete 27 hours of CE courses for your first-time license renewal. Please note that if you have already renewed your license once before, you will need to take the full 36 hours of CE credit.

These required courses are designed to update you about the latest industry regulations and best practices, enabling you to deliver exceptional real estate services to your clients. When you complete your courses, License Classroom will automatically submit your course completion certificates to GREC within 1-2 business days. You can keep focusing on your clients and doing what you do best – selling real estate.

Renewal Type Required Education
Post-License Post-Licensing Courses 

(within your first year)

25 hours of approved Post-Licensing courses

First-Time Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Courses

(after Post-Licensing, within your first four years)

27 hours of approved CE courses

Subsequent Renewals Continuing Education (CE) Courses

(after your first renewal, every four years)

36 total hours of approved CE courses, including 3 hours of Georgia License Law and 33 hours of elective CE courses

#2: Complete a Renewal Application with GREC

Submit a renewal application to GREC online for a $100 fee or by mail for a $125 fee. The renewal period opens four months before your expiration date. After that date, there is a late fee of $125 or more, depending on how long your license has been lapsed. Once approved, your license is renewed, and you can continue helping your clients achieve their real estate goals!

If you don’t renew your Georgia real estate license by the deadline, it will lapse, rendering it inactive and preventing you from practicing real estate. You may complete CE courses and reinstate your license up to two years after its expiration for a $225 fee. Submit the Lawful Presence Verification to GREC by mail, email, or in person if they don’t already have it on file. After two years beyond the expiration, you will need to retake pre-licensing courses and the state exam before reinstating.

Get Started with License Classroom Today

License Classroom’s dynamic, self-paced courses are easy to use and available 100% online for your convenience. The engaging and interactive format empowers agents to complete them in a few weeks! We offer comprehensive packages and individual courses to suit your needs, and our dedicated customer support team is readily available by email, phone, or live chat. Enroll in our Post-Licensing or CE courses today to maintain your license and keep serving clients while growing your business.

Image of a female professional with text overlay, License Classroom's Alabama Post-License Course RequirementsAlabama Real Estate Post-License Requirements
Top Reasons Real Estate Agents are Here to Stay

You Might Also Like

Monthly Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to get our latest articles delivered right to your inbox

SUBSCRIBE